IT Security Certifications

Over time, the field of Internet Technology has become a wide domain and for this reason, IT security has also become essential. The demand for IT Security professionals is incrementing and you must be looking for various certifications that can make you excel in the field and lead you to this career. If you are already a security professional and looking for the recognized certificates that can expand and improve your IT security skills then you have come to the right place because in this article we have listed down the few top IT security Certifications that you should know about. So, let’s take a look into it.  

(ISC)² Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

It is an advanced-level certificate. CISSP Not only does it separate you from other candidates as a security professional, but it also demonstrates the skills that you possess for employers. It proves that you have knowledge of how to design, engineer, and implement information security systems in the workplace. The CISSP objectively measures the skills of the candidates. This is a highly sought-after safety professional certification. The CISSP is in fierce competition and is internationally recognized. Once you’ve earned your security certification, you’ll find many avenues open to you, no matter where your career takes you around the world.


  • The candidate must have at least 5 years experience in a field related to the CISSP.
  • The candidate must have and you must have knowledge of at least two out of the eight domains in the study material, also known as the Common Body of Knowledge, or CBK
  • The candidates that don’t have the required work experience yet can satisfy the requirements with one year of work experience with a four-year college degree, or an approved credential from the CISSP prerequisite pathway.

Benefits of this certificate:

  • Boost you among potential employers
  • Improve your earning potential

EC-Council Certified Ethical Hacker (CEHv11)

Certified Ethical Hacker Certification is one that focuses primarily on penetration tests. This is one of the renowned information security certificates out there. It is structured in such a way that the candidate’s potential is tested in realistic scenarios. Certificate holders are able to proactively test network security from the inside or simulate an intruder from the outside. The CEH is one of the basic courses offered by the EC-Council and is a good starting point before entering the ECSA.

Prerequisites: Candidates must attend official training or have at least two years of information security-related experience.

CompTIA+ Security+

CompTIA Security+ is a basic certification for new cybersecurity IT professionals. You only need two years of IT experience to complete it. CompTIA Security+ certification is considered to be a general cybersecurity certification because it does not focus on a single vendor product line. CompTIA Security+ is great for anyone looking to gain basic knowledge of IT security. It helps build a solid foundation that can be enhanced with other courses. Certification is so well respected that it is mandated by the U.S. Department of Defense for all employees. As security applies to all levels and job roles, this course will also benefit application developers, PC analysts, and senior managers in accounting, sales, and marketing roles.

What will you learn from this course?

  • Network attack strategies and defences
  • Elements of effective security policies
  • Network- and host-based security best practices
  • Business continuity and disaster recovery
  • Encryption standards and products

NIST Cybersecurity Framework (NCSF)

NCSF certifications validate that cybersecurity professionals have the basic skills to design, build, test, and manage a cybersecurity program using the NIST Cybersecurity Framework. There are certificates that come under it. 

Certification of the NCSF Foundation

This program is intended for executives, business professionals, or IT professionals who need a basic understanding of NCSF to perform their work. NCSF Foundation training and certification helps establish a common NCSF vocabulary across an organization.

Certification of NCSF Practitioner

This program teaches you the best approach to designing and building a comprehensive cybersecurity technology-focused program. You will learn how to operate a business-focused cybersecurity risk management program that minimizes risks and protects critical assets.

By earning your NCSF Practitioner certification, you will develop a deep understanding of NCSF and come up with a methodology to adapt and operate it.

Computer Hacking Forensic Investigator (CHFI)

The task of the hacking forensic investigator is to analyze attacks and extract information to report hacking crimes and to conduct audits to prevent future attacks. Forensic investigators explore everything from theft of intellectual property and corporate use of IT to fraud and misuse of IT systems. The CHFI is an advanced certification for forensic network security investigators. It validates your ability to gather the necessary evidence and prosecute offenders before a court of law.

What will you learn?

  • Incident response and forensics
  • Recovering deleted, encrypted, or damaged file information
  • Technical examination, analysis, and reporting of computer-based evidence